The D.C. MindShift in an AC World

Standard

laptop-1104066_1280.jpg

The Internet is filled with facts and information, some of it real some of it fake. As educators, we have to know how to direct our students to information that is meaningful and real; the less is more philosophy flows right into this lesson and is the key to our online existence. The ability to have a small amount of sound and reliable facts, it is not always about having a ton of information.

Cammie presented us with a challenge, a time-based quiz to answer questions before our peers. My teammate and I tried to cruise through the quiz, but I am a slow and methodical thinker, and I was a little wary about the question and answers we were completing. If it were not for the time element, I believe I would have examined the sites we were obtaining information from in full detail. That was not the case here, for the sake of the quiz, I placed aside my questioning mindset and only pulled and placed information, without a second thought.

Such is the challenge of the internet, with so much information at our fingertips, we overlook the value of the information that we retrieve. After returning to the http://www.dhmo.org and http://city-mankato.us websites, I was able to see the error of my ways honestly.

First off both sites visually looked outdated and simplistic, if I were to compare the http://city-mankato.us site to our http://www.city.medicine-hat.ab.ca website. It is easy to see which one looks professional. Yes, the information is important, but it is vital that the information we use and consume is relevant and real. I took for granted that the sites Cammie gave us were genuine and consistent, I did not take the time to research into the city of Mankato or Dihydrogen Monoxide honestly. Instead of having “the first one done mentality” and striving for quality over speed, I would have been able to provide real reliable information, instead of fake information.

This task taught me not to take everything I see and read as reality; I need to prepare myself and my students, firstly to slow down and secondly to annualize the information that the receive from me and online. Digital Citizenship is not something we are born with, and even when you are a college student, it is easy to get lost in the speed of things. Therefore as an educator, it is key to remind ourselves what it means to be a savvy Digital Citizen.

Through research and intuition are key to our online existence. A reality that is quickly becoming essential to our daily lives. Students need to be educated in this new standard and realize how their actions have a ripple effect. I found  implementation so profound that it has caused me to have a mind shift with my application of its instruction in my class.

Leave a Reply

